When in Boston, don’t miss this

There are lots of historic sites in Boston, but this is one that I’ve never considered before. Along the Freedom Trail is a gem of a cemetery called the Granary Burial Ground, which I recently visited for the first time on a beautiful sunny day. Imagine, if you will, some of the biggest names from the Revolutionary era.

George Washington? No, sorry, he was a Virginian and isn’t buried here.

Thomas Jefferson? See the above answer.

Benjamin Franklin? Not buried here, but his parents are.

Paul Revere? Yes, he’s buried here.

Sam Adams? Yes, but there’s no mention of his brewing activities ; )

The victims of the Boston Massacre? All buried here.

John Hancock? Buried here, beneath a strangely phallic tombstone.

If there was such a thing as Who’s Who of the American Revolution, you’d find some of its most prominent members there. And for this reason it shouldn’t be missed on a future trip to Boston. The City Hall building, on the other hand, can be safely ignored.

6 thoughts on “When in Boston, don’t miss this

  1. One of my favorite things about this graveyard is the old script on the tombstones that makes a lowercase ‘s’ look like an ‘f.’ Boston Massacre looks like Bofton Maffacre.
    It is a great old place.

    • It’s also very strange how the inscriptions are so clear and readable after centuries have gone by. Most tombstones after 100 years are illegibile, but not these ones. Somebody must have made their living by carving words into tombstones. Seems like it would be hard to do.

      Thanks so much for reading the post.

      Rob

    • It’s worth the trouble to find it. Mother Goose is buried there too! I would suggest bringing a handful of pennies, to leave on some of the graves.I didn’t have any, and I wished I did.

      And thanks for reading, too.

      • There sure were a lot of them that I could see. I think it is, but when I saw them all lined up and I didn’t have any, I felt like I was missing out. Sometimes, like at the end of Schindler’s List, people will leave stones on someone’s gravestone as a mark of respect. It somehow got morphed into pennies, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

