D=500 posts

The Romans used just seven letters to represent all numbers. We only see them used in a few places today, such as for Super Bowls and dates of building dedications and Rocky sequels. Come to think of it, we don’t even see them used there, anymore. But Roman numerals are out there, for those who care to find them.

When I wrote the 100th post in this space, back in September of last year, I used the fact that the C on my Cubs helmet also represented the Roman numeral for 100. I didn’t know at the time whether or not I’d make it to the next letter up the chain, which is the D. But I kept plugging away, writing something new whenever I could find the time to do it, and now here I am.

I’m not a Tigers fan, by any means, but their cool script D seems to be a fitting way to celebrate my 500th post in this space. And the Tigers are the only team that the Cubs have ever beat in the World Series, so that’s something, I suppose.

I think there’s something very spooky about Milt Wilcox in this picture. And the way he’s holding the ball doesn’t seem like the way a pitcher would hold it. And so a creepy stare, an awkward pose, and an inexplicable green leaf in the top left corner are as good as anything else I can think of for this numerical milestone.

There’s now just one more numeral to go, and that’s the letter M for 1,000 posts. I’d have to essentially write another post for every one that I’ve already written, and that seems like a pretty tall order. But unlike last fall, I’m now committed to keeping this going, and so, to say it like Bon Jovi once did, I’m halfway there. So let’s do this.

Onward to the next 500 posts!

One thought on “D=500 posts

  1. Pingback: Milt wilcox | Manaartstudio

Leave a Reply

