Shelves filled with nothing


The building I work in has a wing that’s rarely used. A couple of days ago I was in this wing, almost by accident, when I saw the strangest sight. A number of wooden display shelves stretched from floor to ceiling, and on those shelves–where presumably magazines or catalogs or some form of printed materials once sat–there was nothing at all. The shelves were displaying nothing to nobody, except for me, and I don’t count for all that much.

A sad sense of emptiness and unfulfilled potential permeated this space. It spoke to me, and I pulled out my cameraphone to capture it for posterity. It made for a pretty enough picture, with various textures and colors and patterns. But whoever is paying for for the electricity to light up the shelves is not getting anything for their money.   

Leave a Reply

