Skip with me, Daddy

girls-skipping

Most of the requests I get from people involve giving of my money and/or time, which are both in short supply these days. So I instinctively tune these requests out, not because I don’t want to help people, but because I can’t possibly do enough to make the requestors happy.

But this morning was different. As I was walking toward the house with my nine-year old daughter, she suddenly grabbed my hand and said “Skip with me, Daddy.” It was a request that I gladly obliged, and look forward to receiving again. Perhaps there’s a reason to turn down a request like that, but I can’t think of what it might be.

Here’s hoping everyone gets a request they’ll be happy to fulfill at some point this year.

Leave a Reply

