Something I once enjoyed

JayBud

By 1984, the year that this baseball card came out, I had moved away from my boyhood interest in baseball cards. I had moved away from baseball toward videogames in the early 80s, and by the middle of the decade I had shifted to drinking beer instead. Of course I was 21 and fully legal when I started. Nobody ever drinks when they aren’t of age, do they?

Anyway, the sight of a baseball player wearing a hat/umbrella made entirely of Budweiser logos would have once struck me as a very cool thing. And the eight and nine year olds pulling this card from of a pack of them might have received the same message. Do with that whatever you will.

I hope Jay Johnstone got a nice holiday card from Budweiser, at least.

Leave a Reply

