The travelling lefties

Lefties2

A number of years ago, when I was travelling by airplane more often than I am now, a bag like the one pictured above just wasn’t seen in airports. The four-wheeled travel bag seems to be a newer thing, and you can call me a curmudgeon but I don’t like them.

Last night, I decided to do a bit of informal research on the matter while I was at O’Hare airport in Chicago. I sat on a seat in the middle of a random concourse and started counting bags. I decided that the next hundred bags to pass by, in either direction, would tell me what the breakdown of two-wheeled bags–which I’m more familiar with– and four-wheeled bags is. And what I found was encouraging: 87 out of the 100 bags I counted were of the two-wheeled variety.

So it’s still a two-wheeled world out there, but the other variety has carved out a niche for itself in the past few years. Think of these bags as the left-handers in the right-handed world of traveling; they are a small but noticeable minority. The difference is that nobody chooses to be left handed, while the four-wheeled travelers make a decision to be as they are. I like that analogy, somehow. So vive la difference, right?

2 thoughts on “The travelling lefties

    • As a lefty myself, I fully agree. I didn’t choose it, but I’m glad it chose me. I tell people that I’m literally wired differently from most people. It’s actually fun, I think.

      Hope you have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

