Links to some baseball writings

Cubs13

It’s been a frustrating season to be a Cubs fan. Isn’t it always?

The way that I cope with these frustrations is to write about them, and send them in to ThroughTheFenceBaseball. I greatly enjoy having an outlet for these frustrations, and I fully understand that the snarky, cynical tone of my writings may not come across as a true fan’s prose should. But I am a Cubs fan first, last, and always, and a lifetime full of disappointments hasn’t changed that one little bit.

I typically cross-post about my writings for TTFB here, since  shunting the main part of my baseball thoughts–at least during the baseball season–serves two purposes: it provides content for the baseball-interested audience that ThroughTheFence caters to, while also keeping this blog from becoming too heavy with baseball matters.

Some people probably write about nothing other than baseball. And that’s fine, because writing is a personal thing and I’ll always respect anyone who does it. But I could never allow baseball–or anything else, for that matter–to become the sole focus of what I put in this space. Life is varied, and so are the things that I write about.

With all that in mind, I have recently written a piece about the Cubs’ travails this season, and another one about their upcoming series with the White Sox. Feel free to check them out, if you’re so inclined.

4 thoughts on “Links to some baseball writings

  1. I empathize with you more than many others possibly could. Born in 1984, I am a lifelong Cubs fan. I bleed Cubbie blue. A framed picture of Wrigley Field is hung above the television in our living room, much to the dismay of my wife. My high school graduation present was two tickets to Wrigley to watch two Cubs day games (I’m from Nashville, so this was an expensive trip). I’ve sat through Grace, Dawson, Sandberg, Sosa, Lee, Ramirez, Maddux, Wood and so, so many others. I’ve sat through Steve Bartman and may other disappointments. I’m very glad that I stumbled upon your blog. I’m going to subscribe and I look forward to your future posts!

    • Thanks very much for reading and taking the time to type up a response. Not everyone does that, and I wish more people did.

      My first game at Wrigley was in 1987, Andre Dawson’s first year with the Cubs. Dawson is still my favorite Cubs player, all these years later. Many of my Cubs stories are on this blog already, while others are stored in my head, waiting to be set free. Hopefully there will be some that you can relate to.

      Hope you’re enjoying the long weekend.

  2. You’re very welcome. I wish that more people would take the time to interact as well.

    It’s hard not to love Andre Dawson. The fact that he wanted to be a Cub so badly that he gave the organization a blank contract and allowed them to decide his pay is amazing! I can’t imagine any professional athlete in any sport (especially and upper echelon player like Dawson) doing that today.

    On a side note, how did you like Samardzija’s shut out of the White Sox yesterday?

    • I loved it. He was dominant, and it happened against the White Sox, so what’s not to love? He can be the staff ace to build around for the future. I hope the Cubs will be able to do that, because all of the guys that they want us to get excited about (Almora, Soler, et al.) are all position players. But pitching wins championships, and that’s all I care about now.

      And you can have the book if you want it. I went to a library book sale on “buck-a-bag” day a week ago, and I made off like a bandit. The poetry book was among the titles I picked up, so I’m not deeply attached to it. I read Whitman’s “Dirge for Two Veterans” from it the day after Memorial Day, and it was very moving.

      Hope you have a great day.

Leave a Reply

