Link to a post on ChicagoSideSports and in the Chicago Sun-Times

MLB Twitter

Baseball has been a big part of my life since the mid-1970s, which is as far back as I can remember anything. Twitter, on the other hand, has been in my life for just a few years. What better way to fuse the old and the new but to write about the two subjects together? That what I did, and the result is published today on ChicagoSideSports.

I’m at the point in life where Twitter seems like a fault line to me. People who don’t tweet, and have no interest in doing so, aren’t really getting social media, in my estimation. Tweets and those who send and read them are newsworthy anymore, and Facebook–while I actually know all of the people I’m friends with there–seems more and more limiting as time goes by. I’m not cool enough for Reddit yet, and some of the other media outlets (Instagram, Tumblr, and even Vine nowadays) don’t hold much interest for me yet. But when I want to learn new things online, Twitter is increasingly where I go.

MLB‘s teams have a lot of room to grow in this regard. And if this piece helps to point that out, that’s a good thing in my book.

4 thoughts on “Link to a post on ChicagoSideSports and in the Chicago Sun-Times

  1. Great post!

    I’m curious to know if teams of the MLB are behind the eight-ball with Twitter because of the demographics of their fans. Are men less likely to be involved in the “Twitterverse” or does it have something to do with age? It could also certainly be that major league teams just aren’t capitalizing on the social media channel, and aren’t providing enough compelling content for fans to find it necessary to follow.

    Not sure, but it’s certainly got me thinking.

  2. I love Twitter and use it everyday. Although I don’t have a smart phone yet, whenever I’m at the laptop, I continually check Twitter. Way of the future. Congratulations!

    • Thanks for the kind words. Check out the story in the Sun-Times today (page 61) if you have a chance. All the best to you.

      Rob

Leave a Reply

