The heart of Rock and Roll

image

Watching my daughters, and a hundred other girls, make music onstage in Chicago yesterday reminded me of a great quote I once read. I think it came from Bono, and it said that rock and roll and freedom feel like they’re the same thing. My kids aren’t yet ready for total freedom, but onstage they did what they wanted to do, and that was a welcome sight to see.

My little one–who plays lead guitar better than I ever could–now tells me she wants to play the drums, instead. Perhaps I need to reconsider this freedom thing. But they both loved the experience, and as a parent you can’t do too much better than that.

4 thoughts on “The heart of Rock and Roll

Leave a Reply

