Four years and a lifetime ago

image

I remember it well, that New Year’s day in 2010, when Northwestern played the Auburn Tigers in the Outback Bowl. It was the first bowl game of the day, and I was ready for it with a mountain of alcohol. It was rare for me to start drinking before noon, but this was a big game and, well, football. That was all I needed, really.

By the time the game had ended, with Northwestern losing in overtime, I was already hammered, and the day was just getting started. By the time the last game ended late in the evening hours, I had watched a ton of football and consumed a ton of alcohol. The two had a symbiotic relationship with each other, to be honest about it.

I haven’t had a drink on New Year’s day since then. I’ve also just about cut television out of my life since then. New Year’s day this year consisted of two or three plays of the Wisconsin game (whichever bowl game it was) and–much more importantly–no alcohol whatsoever. It’s a decision that I’m comfortable with, because beer and television once had a long run in my life, and now I’m on to something else. Everything changes, after all.

Here’s to another year with little television, and even less liquor. And also to another year of wondering how I ever lived that way. I have no desire to go back to it, that’s for sure.

2 thoughts on “Four years and a lifetime ago

  1. I can’t ditch my TV but I rarely touch alcohol. Never understood the whole getting drunk for the fun of it thing anyways. So kudos to you on your decisions on a better life. Hope you had a great holidays and all the best for you and yours in the new year.

    • Thanks, Jeff. The two of them have probably already ruined my life, but living without them now feels pretty good.

      I have a box of baseball cards I will send out whenever I get to the post office next. I tend to put things off sometimes.

      Hope 2014 is a good one for you and yours, as well.

Leave a Reply

