My present of choice

It will be Christmas morning soon, and my children will run out to the living room and see what kind of gifts Santa left for them. They’re good kids, and so I’m sure he’ll remember them. And they’ll have fun for an hour or two, and then it will be on to whatever comes next on Christmas, probably a breakfast of some kind. It should be a great day for them, and for me as well.

When I was a kid, in the late 1970s and early 1980s, I remember the present that I hoped to find under the Christmas tree–a World Almanac and Book of Facts for whatever year it happened to be. I would sit under the tree for hours, poring over lists of the largest cities in the world, or the biggest-selling records of the previous year, or the countries that won the most Olympic medals in history. In the pre-internet days, it was next to impossible to have so much information in your hands at the same time. It says a lot about the kind of kid that I was. But at least it made me happy.

I’m glad to see that the World Almanac is still being published, in these days where Google can provide most, if not all, of the information that the book itself contains. The home page state that the book “makes a great gift” and I can vouch for that. I wish I could give one to my own kids, but I’m pretty sure I would know what would happen. I’d probably end up using it all day long on Christmas, and I doubt my kids would get upset if I did.

I hope Santa is good to you and yours this year.

Leave a Reply

