Some of the concerts I’ve seen

 

Photo ©1995 robbi cohn/dead images

I wrote this for my sister a few years back, as we were getting ourselves psyched up for our first Springsteen concert. With the new Springsteen tour going on, and a concert at Wrigley Field in the near future, I wanted to dust this off. A few edits have been made for brevity and other issues. Enjoy!

KISS/the Plasmatics, 1983

The coat I wore to that concert, wherever it is, still reeks of pot.

Quiet Riot, Early 1984

Quiet Riot had to know that it would never get any better for them.

Sammy Hagar, Fall 1984

My ears rang for three days afterward. I loved it.

U2, Spring 1987

Right after the Joshua Tree came out, and right before they became megastars. It was a great show.

Monsters of Rock, Spring, 1988

A day-long procession of heavy metal bands on a warm sunny day. Who thought that was a good idea? It was cool seeing Eddie Van Halen onstage, though.

Grateful Dead, Spring 1988

My first Dead show, and  I wasn’t prepared for the parking lot scene at all. I wonder where all those people are now?

Van Halen, Fall 1988

Having just seen Van Halen a few months before, the thrill wasn’t quite so great.

Grateful Dead, Spring 1989

It seemed like the band played “Terrapin Station” for a verrrrry long time.

Fine Young Cannibals, Spring 1990

Roland Gift had maybe the best singing voice I’ve ever heard.

Grateful Dead, Spring 1993

Jerry Garcia really played some incredible guitar at this show. The Steve Miller Band opened, but the parking lot at Soldier Field won out instead.

 Jimmy Buffett, 1990s, exact years uncertain

We camped out somewhere in Wisconsin after two of the shows, and one of them was played in the pouring rain. Camping in the rain isn’t any fun, but Jimmy’s show made it seem worthwhile.

Grateful Dead, Spring 1994

My fourth and final Dead show. Sting was the opening act, but it was pouring rain and I think he only played 3 songs. The Dead’s music was very good, as usual.

Pink Floyd, Summer, 1994

I remember that the rain started to fall during “One of These Days,” and it felt like a special effect to go with the song. And “Comfortably Numb” went on for a very long time.

The Who, Halloween 1996

The band played “Quadrophenia” straight through. Pete Townsend had some hearing issues, so he played acoustic guitar for most of the show.

Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band, Fall 2007

Springsteen concerts are unlike anything else. And I’m glad I got to see Clarence Clemons play live.

KISS, Fall 2009

Not as many pyrotechnics (or as much pot) as in the 80s, but I love how some of their fans wear the makeup and costumes to the show.

Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band, Wrigley Field, Fall 2012

Jake Clemons, Clarence’s nephew, is playing with the band, and fitting in very well, from what I’m reading. I’m sure this will be a summer of anticipation.

2 thoughts on “Some of the concerts I’ve seen

  1. Hi Rob,

    lovely tribute!! Thanks for using my image of Jerry Garcia…you can see it on my website as well…www.deadimages.com

    I’d be grateful if you’d be so kind as to include my copyright info on the bottom…©1995 robbi cohn/dead images

    thanks in advance!!

    peace thru music,

    robbi cohn

    • Thanks for reading and for your kind words! My apologies for omitting your photo credit. That will be taken care of right away.

      I sometimes can’t believe it’s been almost 20 years since Jerry and the Dead played together. Where has all the time gone?

      All the best to you.

      Rob

Leave a Reply

