This Twinkie thing ain’t over yet

My lunch of choice, for most of the time that I was in high school, consisted of two Hostess Ding Dongs and two pints (I think that’s the size of those little cartons) of chocolate milk. It seems that I was not doing my body any favors by putting that into my system, five days a week. But I liked it, so much that trying something else would have seemed wrong to me.

I’m a long way from high school nowadays. And yet the news that Hostess is closing down still hits me pretty hard. I remember eating Twinkies and fruit pies and Suzy Qs and HoHos when I was a kid, and those were the currency of being young. Somebody will probably buy up those brand names, since they have a cache that will probably last forever. I’d hate to imagine that the bell has tolled for the Ding Dong, or live in a world where the Ho-Ho is No-Mo.

This isn’t good-bye, Twinkie the Kid. Everybody knows that individual Twinkies last a verrrrrrrry long time. Let’s hope that’s also true for Twinkies writ large.

Leave a Reply

