I was dreaming when I wrote this

prince-1999

As we begin the final month, either of the year or of civilization on earth, I’m reminded of Prince’s song “1999” from the album of the same name. The premise of the song is that if the world is coming to an end, we should all have fun before it does. My favorite line is one that Prince himself didn’t even sing: “Life is just a party, and parties weren’t meant to last.”

When the end comes, if it ever does at all, it would be nice to have a bit of warning, but I don’t think it will work out that way. If the Mayans are right, well, this should be one hell of a month. But I have a feeling that come New Year’s Day, a month from now, there’s going to be some Mayans with a lot of ‘splaining to do. I hope so, anyway.

Leave a Reply

