(Just Like) Rock Lobster

Rock Lobster

My nine-year old daughter is fond of dancing to Rock Lobster from the B-52s, and yesterday she asked me to dance along with her. I hadn’t heard the song since I saw it performed on Saturday Night Live, waaaaay back in early 1980.

I barely remember the song–despite a super catchy guitar hook and some truly disarming shrieks near the end–but I clearly remember the beehive hairdos. I haven’t seen anything else like it, before or since.

On a side note, John Lennon attributed this song to making him want to record music again, after taking nearly five years away from the studio. It makes sense, since he probably worked on Double Fantasy throughout 1980, before, well, we know what happened to him in December of that year.

So this is a meaningful song, in the sense that it coaxed a final album from one of the most influential artists that rock and roll has seen, and I can also dance to it with my nine-year old. What more can anyone ask for?

Leave a Reply

