Hail to the Greatest

Ali

A visit to the Ali Center in Louisville, about a year before I started writing this blog, was a great travel experience. I was there with my family and some friends of ours on Spring Break, but it wasn’t the reason why we were in Louisville. The Louisville Slugger factory and Mammoth Cave were the real attractions, but so many other things came up on that trip as well. May every trip in the future be so filled with surprises and memories.

But on Muhammad Ali’s birthday, I wanted to share this great LeRoy Neiman rendering that hangs in the Ali Center. I knew of his greatness as a fighter, or at least I thought I did, but his standing as a civil rights figure and an anti-war voice were lost on me before I went. But I get it now. His outsize presence, both inside and outside the ring, are in direct contrast to the man who’s been battling Parkinson’s Disease for the past two decades.

Even though Ali hasn’t been inside a boxing ring in over 30 years, he hasn’t been–and won’t ever be–forgotten.

Leave a Reply

