On fire this month

HEINZ1

This post is the 57th that I’ve written for this blog in January of 2013. And there’s still a few days left in the month, so I feel like I’m chasing Babe Ruth or Roger Maris or whoever those steroid era guys were. I know their names, actually, but I’m just trying to throw a little dirt on their ill-gotten gains.

Why have there been so many posts this month? It’s not like I made any new year’s resolutions to add more content, or type something new up every chance I could. I’m just doing what I do, and the posts keep coming as a result. I’m having a good time with it, so why not?

I think realizing this is the third year I’ve been at this has also helped a little bit. 2011 was a partial year, and this is a partial year too, at least to this point, but I can say that I’ve been at this for three years now, without being untruthful about it. If someone wants to believe this means three full years–and over 1,000 days–that’s their interpretation, but it’s not reality.

The posts have become shorter than they once were, but that’s probably a good thing. 800 and 900 word posts used to be the norm in this space, and now it’s almost unthinkable. In the now-viral words of Sweet Brown, ain’t nobody got time for that, myself included.

I’ve learned that it’s better to make my point, such as it is, in 200 to 300 words. Then I add some tags, and a few links, and get it up online. As attention spans get shorter and shorter, content will also follow suit. I still love doing this, but I’m just doing it in smaller batches, is all. That’s one way to interpret it, right?

Leave a Reply

