Doin’ the time warp

wpid-wp-1361643500108.jpg NG1968

Thanks to a book exchange at a recycling center here in Chicago, I was able to procure a National Geographic for the month that I was born. I haven’t read any of it yet, but the ads in the front and the back have already offered me a window into a world that no longer exists.

I was born into a world of traveler’s checks and beehive hairdos and Pan Am Airlines. A world where people clipped things out and mailed them in to request more information about things. A world where Illinois billed itself as “The Tall State” and dozens of military academies took out ads in the Classified section.

It seems strange and somewhat fascinating to me, and I’m looking forward to spending a few minutes or hours browsing through the world I was born into. Everyone should have an opportunity such as this, if only to appreciate how much things have changed during their lifetimes.

I can’t promise anything, but someone reading this who’s interested, please send me your birth month in the comments and I’ll see what I can find as far as the month you were born. And I’ll be sure to delete your message before it ever gets published here. That’s the power of moderated comments. Who knows, it might prove an interesting experience. And I’m always up for having one of those.

Leave a Reply

