The tie that abides

2013-03-03_11-23-47_405

Ten years ago this fall I was out in New Mexico, visiting my in-laws as the Cubs were in the midst of their ill-fated playoff run. The one that took us all to the brink of the World Series, before vanishing into thin air. All these years later, and I’m still not over it, either.

Before I left New Mexico, with the Cubs holding a 3-2 lead in the series, my mother in-law presented me with the tie pictured above. It was a simple brown tie, but she had stitched some fake ivy  over it, to replicate the outfield wall at Wrigley Field. In my ebullience at the team’s chances for success, I told her it would be my “good luck tie” for the World Series that year.

Unfortunately, I never got the chance to wear it. I didn’t wear it to work on the day of the Game Six meltdown on Tuesday, October 14, and I refused to wear it before Game Seven the following night. And then, after the season came to a screeching halt, the World Series tie was put away into the darkest recesses of my closet.

As I cleaned out my closet over the weekend, my mother-in-law’s ivy-covered tie came to light. I looked at it, remembering the feeling that the Cubs were unstoppable, and the World Series was just a few days away.

I’m hoping to have that feeling again someday, and I’ll proudly wear that tie when I do.

(UPDATE: I finally got to wear the tie on November 1, 2016,  a mere 13 years after it was given to me. The Cubs are playing the Cleveland Indians, and Game 6 is tonight. GO CUBS!)

Leave a Reply

