I’m drivin’ a Caddy, you fixin’ a Ford

RunDMC

I’ve written about Run-DMC before in this space, but not as much as I should have. Their music grabbed me from the first time I heard it back in 1984, and I like to tell my kids that I was into rap before most other white kids were.

By the time I left for college in the fall of 1986, Run-DMC had broken through with Walk This Way, but I had been into them for quite some time already. I had copies of King of Rock and their debut album on vinyl, and could recite Can You Rock It Like This and It’s Like That and a dozen others at the drop of a hat. To this day, I would count them as one of my favorite acts in music, and an important link to the teenager that I once was.

So when I was shopping in an Old Navy store with my teenager this afternoon, and came upon a T-Shirt display with the Run-DMC shirt pictured above, there was no doubt I had to have it. I’ve owned Doors shirts, and Stones shirts, and even a Grateful Dead knockoff shirt before, but never anything honoring the Hollis crew. It took way too long for the opportunity to present itself, but now I’m pleased to represent for 80s rap. May their music live forever.

Leave a Reply

