All that you eat

2013-06-03_22-04-10_681

I missed out on some things growing up. Perhaps the thing I most notice–the one gap I’ve been able to correct most completely–is the taste of fresh pineapple. It sounds crazy, but I can explain.

When I was growing up, pineapple came in a can. Pineapple rings, pineapple chunks, crushed pineapple, it was all the same thing. I might have been able to point out what a fresh pineapple looked like, based on some artwork on the can’s label, but the taste of it was something I had never considered.

That all changed when I was on my honeymoon in the Caribbean. One day the cruise ship we were travelling on set out a plate of fresh pineapple, and I instantly realized what I had been missing out on for all those years of canned pineapple. Now, I’m that guy who, whenever there’s a fruit assortment available, grabs as many pineapple chunks as possible, leaving everything else for whoever comes next.

An offshoot of this fondness for pineapple–and likely the reason why I never ate it growing up–is that it’s a pain to cut one up. The first step is to hack off the pointed crown at the top (as shown above) and then to get inside with a pineapple corer. So tonight, as I lopped off the top of a fresh pineapple, I realized that my children will have it much better than I did at their age, since they now appreciate fresh pineapple as much as I do. It’s not the most important thing I’ll ever do for them, but it’s a start.

Leave a Reply

