With every paper I’d deliver

paper

I had a paper route from the time I was old enough to get one (you had to be 12 back in the day) until I left it to take a “real” job bagging groceries at age 16. That’s four years of delivering newspapers, every single day. If that won’t drill a work ethic into you, nothing will.

So newspapers  have always been important to me. And on days like today, when a story I wrote appears in a newspaper like the Chicago Sun-Times, it’s practically overwhelming. Newspapers have changed a lot in my lifetime, but they’re still around and hopefully always will be.

The young kid who once lugged 46 newspapers around every morning now stands in awe of what the middle-aged version of himself has been able to accomplish. It certainly is a good feeling to have.

Leave a Reply

