Riding with The Who

The-Who-the-who-29328628-1280-1024

Today I had to take a drive down to Indiana to pick my daughter up from summer camp. I had some time to kill on the road, and music always helps in this regard. I wrote about a similar drive back in February here, but today I was in the mood for some rock and roll. That’s usually how it is with me. So I put a disc from The Who in and let it rip. And the ride to Indiana got so much better as a result.

I could go song by song through the disc, but life is too short for that. I will say that I like Slip Kid a lot more than I thought I did, and Sister Disco also inspired me on some level, which I’ll hopefully follow through on in the weeks and months ahead. And Eminence Front is a song I’ll always be able to listen to. But the real revelation, at least for today, is Guitar and Pen.

It’s all about the process of trying to make sense of what’s inside of you. That’s what I try to do here, with varying degrees of success. I can’t write songs because I’m not the least bit musical, but I do know what the song was getting at. And I want to honor it as much as I can, in part by drawing some attention to it here.

Leave a Reply

