Quarterly Report #7

RobCup

I skipped doing a Quarterly report after the first three months of 2013, which would have been the seventh quarter that I’ve been writing this blog. Perhaps I was busy, of I kept putting it off until it was too late, but whatever the reason was, I didn’t do it. So this report is being written to get myself back on track with these. I really think it’s helpful to tie up the previous three months, and look ahead to the future a little bit. So here goes (and I’m not labeling this as #8, although I did think about it):

I recently celebrated the two year anniversary of this blog, and I really didn’t think that I would have stuck with it for so long. There’s a lot that I have already said in this space, and a lot more that I still want to say, and so the blog will live on until further notice.

At the beginning of this quarter, back in April, I was so sick that I couldn’t speak. That must have been the reason that I didn’t write the last quarterly report, now that I think about it. I had a great time in the Smoky Mountains and then in Memphis, and I wrote about some of it here.

The bombing at the Boston Marathon happened in April, and it was one of those times where I was glad to have some place to put my thoughts out to the wider world. So too was the passing of Roger Ebert a chance to speak to things that I otherwise wouldn’t address. Something that he wrote on his blog about alcoholism inspired me to give up drinking, and it’s now been two years since I stopped trying to wipe out my liver. I’ll be forever grateful for his candor about a subject that most people wouldn’t touch.

On the day that Ebert died, a piece I wrote for ChicagoSideSports also ran in the Chicago Sun-Times, which was Roger Ebert’s paper. It was thrilling to see my words in print, as it always has been since I began writing as a teenager. But then, when the word came that he had died in the afternoon, it became a connection to him that I never thought about before, and one that I will always cherish.

The baseball season began in April, and I returned for another year of writing for ThroughTheFenceBaseball, or TTFB as it’s also known. I started out hopefully enough when the Cubs won their first series of the year, but it has been downhill pretty dramatically since then. Some of my pieces were linked to here and here and here.

In addition to TTFB, ChicagoSideSports, and the Chicago Sun-Times, I also had the pleasure of seeing my pen name in the New York Times, and of course I had to write about that.When things like that happen, it’s better to get something on the record than to just allow it to slip by unnoticed,

The Chicago Blackhawks won the Stanley Cup at the end of June, and their thrilling run through the playoffs gave me some fodder for this blog, as well. May it not be the last Chicago sports championship that this blog will see.

There were other things going on in this blog over the last three months, and I’m proud–as I always am–of what’s been put out into this space. There will doubtlessly be many more things to write about in the coming months, and I look forward to having much to summarize when the end of September rolls around.

Leave a Reply

