The birth of a column

Addison-St-Blues

I started writing for ThroughTheFenceBaseball (or TTFB) about a year and a half ago. I liked the idea that my random baseball musings could reach more people there than they could on this blog. I still dabble in baseball writing from time to time here, but by and large my baseball writings go to TTFB first. Then I write a post here with a link to that piece, and everything is good.

But starting with the piece that I wrote today, I have a featured column on TTFB. The title–Addison Street Blues–was my idea. It combines a Cubs theme (since Wrigley Field sits along Addison Street in Chicago) with one of my favorite TV shows growing up, Hill Street Blues.

I realize that the show was never specifically set in Chicago, but the “Metro Police” cars used in the show were pretty clearly patterned after Chicago’s police cars. And the theme song is one of those that can transport me back to the early 1980s at any given moment. So it’s not a bad way of combining two things I like into one place.

I’ll be writing more pieces for the column as the season winds down. There’s only five weeks of the season, and 32 games left to play. But there’s always some new angle to explore, and there’s lots of history and personal remembrances and things like that, too. So it will be fun, definitely. Feel free to check it out sometime.

Leave a Reply

