The fall of day

2013-09-20_19-13-56_619

The title for this post comes from a drawing by William Rimmer. It was the inspiration for the Swan Song Records logo, and was the sort of thing that I read about once and never forgot. It’s funny what sticks with you and what doesn’t.

As I get older, my appreciation for sunsets gets ever greater. Thoreau once described sunsets as the work of “the Great Artist” and I like that term. Humans can create whatever they want, but nature will always be the standard for exquisite beauty.

As I write this, I realize that I am–as Pink Floyd once observed–one day (and one sunset) closer to death. One day I’ll run out of sunsets to enjoy, and old rock songs to quote. And until that happens, I’ll be sure to realize how incredibly lucky we all are to be here.

Leave a Reply

