If you don’t do your math…

pink-floyd-the-wall

This morning I took my little one to her bus stop on my way to work. As I turned the car on, the final guitar solo for Pink Floyd’s “Another Brick in the Wall Part II” was playing. The end of the song includes the crazed schoolmaster saying “If you don’t eat your meat, you can’t have any pudding! How can you have any pudding if you don’t eat your meat?” I’ve written about this song before here, by the way.

My little one indicated she didn’t understand what that meant, but it must have been important because I sang along to it with such gusto. I explained that it’s a way of saying you have to do the bad things, like eating meat, before you can get to the good things, like having pudding. She understood this well, and wanted to apply it to her own life.

She decided, with my full approval, that doing math is the scholastic equivalent of eating meat, and having good grades is the equivalent of having pudding. So the modern update to this concept, according to a fifth grader, is as follows:

If you don’t do your math, you can’t have any good grades! How can you have any good grades if you don’t do your math?

Glad we were able to clear that up for anyone who was wondering.

Leave a Reply

