Sorry, retailers

2013-11-27_23-12-11_494

I know you had plans for me today. You opened your stores and offered deals and expected me to come. Instead of giving thanks, I was supposed to be giving you my money. That’s the American way anymore, isn’t it?

But I wasn’t going out today. And I’m not venturing out into the Black Friday scrum, either. If I’m the only one, that’s fine. I’ve never been afraid to buck a trend and go it alone. But I hope that there are others like me.

I’ll still buy gifts for people as I always do at the holiday season. But I want to get one holiday behind me before the next one starts. I don’t expect you’ll understand that, but that’s where I’m at. Just so you’re aware.

Leave a Reply

