The next in life

1

I’m 45 years old, and have done a few things in my life. But new experiences, as always, are a nice surprise when they happen. And yesterday I had such an experience when I went to lunch with my mother.

It’s a simple thing, and yet it’s never happened before. And what a shame it would be if it never did. We had a great time, she and I, talking about life over some Chinese food. I typically enjoy General Tso’s chicken, but when served with a side dish of mom’s company, it’s the best dish imaginable.

The fortune cookie at the end of the meal read “You are the next in life for a promotion.” I’m not exactly sure what that is supposed to mean, but it seemed as if a life objective more important than a promotion had been achieved.

Leave a Reply

