Visualizing the 2013 #Cubs season

image

I do this every year, beginning on Opening day. With a Cubs pocket schedule in hand, I circle the games that they win, and draw an X though the games they lose. It’s silly, but it keeps me involved on some meaningless level. Until, of course, the season seems lost.

I found this past season’s schedule today, tucked away in the corner of a forgotten drawer. I’m not surprised that I gave up with six weeks left in the season, just as good baseball teams are thinking about going to the playoffs. I’m actually surprised that I stayed with it for as long as I did.

Once next season rolls around, I think I’ll put my nerdy custom aside. Until further notice, playing Cubs tic-tac-toe seems like a prelude to disappointment.

Some believe better days are ahead for the Cubs, but I’ll need something more than blind faith going forward. May the desire to do this again someday come back to me.

Leave a Reply

