Sunrises are nice, too

Sky

One of the recurring themes of this blog has been the beauty of a sunset. I could find several posts where sunsets were described, and possibly a picture was added for emphasis. The colors that the sky turns–particularly when clouds are involved–is really quite remarkable.

But today I had the opposite experience. I was on my way to work in the morning when the most brilliant sunrise presented itself. I tried to find a view that was not obstructed by trees, but I also realized that colors like those wouldn’t last for very long. So I snapped the shot above, and present it here for the safekeeping of internet posterity.

Henry David Thoreau once referred to a “Great Artist” as the creator of scenes like this.The more I see of nature, the more I understand that we must treasure it and protect it the best way that we can.

Art is meant to be enjoyed, and no human could ever match the grand work that was on display over Chicago this morning. I felt very fortunate to have seen it, and even more fortunate to be able to describe it in this space.

May everyone take some time to marvel at what nature presents to us.

Leave a Reply

