Somewhere in Liberal, Kansas

2013-12-28_16-29-07_306

I’ve lived quite a few years on this earth, but I’ve never been to Kansas before today. There are maybe ten or eleven more states I haven’t been to before, and making it to all 50 before my time is up would be nice.

Tonight will be my first, and likely my last, night spent in the state that is known for the Wizard of Oz, and perhaps a few other things. But whenever someone says “Kansas” to me, I think of the Yellow Brick road. Never mind that the mastermind behind OZ actually lived in Chicago. The story goes that Dorothy left Kansas and went Over the Rainbow.

So today I got to see Dorothy’s house, or at least a cheesy replica of it, in Liberal, Kansas. And Pink Floyd’s song “Money” was playing in my head the whole time, as some local child dressed in a blue dress and ruby slippers engaged with the handful of children on the tour.

After the tour was over, I drove along Pancake Boulevard (and lots of pancake-flat roads) and I’m still a long day’s drive from home. So thanks for something, Kansas, and keep on doing whatever it is that you do. I’m off to the land of OZ’s creator in the morning. After all, there’s no place like home.

Leave a Reply

