The good and the bad in life

ferguson

It’s been a while since I’ve done this, and that makes me a little bit sad. So much has happened that I want to say a few words about: the loss of Robin Williams, the bullshit–and there’s no other word I’ll use to describe it–that’s been happening in Ferguson, Missouri, the little things that have been happening in my life this summer, and whatever other thoughts pop into my head from time to time.

But instead, there’s nothing new going on here lately.

I still write things on occasion, mostly about the Chicago Cubs. With so many places to focus energy and attention, for some reason I keep coming back to that subject. I don’t understand it, but there it is.

The world can lift your spirits and break your heart, sometimes both in the same day. And if a moment or an event isn’t fixed for posterity in some way, it’s just gone. My blog is a defense against that, in some small and meaningless way. I don’t put multiple posts within the same day here anymore, but I will continue on with posting a few words from time to time.

Robin Williams was Yang, and police in riot gear shooting at unarmed Americans was Yin. We have both in this world and always will. And this blog is my humble attempt at acknowledging both.

Leave a Reply

